If you’ve had White Claw before, then you’ve probably wondered what kind of alcohol is in it. And believe it or not, it’s not unusual to have this question because many people are really not aware what type of alcohol is in White Claw or other hard seltzers.
There are many misconceptions on what alcohol is in White Claw. Some people say it’s vodka, because the drink tastes like a cocktail. Some think that White Claw is similar to light beer because it is called a “malt beverage”. There are even some people who think that White Claw does not really contain any alcohol.
So what is the real deal? If you’re wondering about this question, then read on. This blog post will explore the answer on the alcohol type in this popular beverage.
What Alcohol Is In White Claw?
White Claw is a hard seltzer that has gained popularity in recent years. Even with the pandemic going on, sales of this beverage did not really slow down. It gained popularity because it has been marketed as a gluten-free, lower carb alternative to other alcoholic drinks.
However, many people who are just introduced to this drink are not familiar with what alcohol is in the drink. For many types of drinks that are mixed with alcohol in it, the manufacturer would normally put in the type of alcohol in the ingredients list. For White Claw, however, it is not as easy as that.
When you look at the ingredients list written at the back of the White Claw can, you will find the following ingredients:
Purified carbonated water, alcohol, natural flavors, cane sugar, citric acid, natural juice concentrate, sodium citrate
As you can see from above, you will only find the term “alcohol” and it is not really indicated what type of alcohol is in the drink. To know the answer to the question on what alcohol is in White Claw, we went to the White Claw website to investigate.
The White Claw website states that the drink is made from a blend of seltzer water, a gluten free alcohol base, and a hint of fruit flavor. Again, no specification on what kind of alcohol aside from the additional information that the drink has a gluten free alcohol base. On the other hand, on an interview with VinePair, a brand representative reportedly shared that the alcohol in White Claw comes from fermented sugars derived from malted gluten-free grains.
So the answer to the question on what kind of alcohol is in White Claw is that: The alcohol found in White Claw is created from fermented sugars from malted gluten-free grains.
Is White Claw Beer?
If the alcohol from White Claw is derived from malted grains, is it not then similar to beer? Can it not be considered a version of beer? This is another question popular with White Claw drinkers.
To determine whether White Claw can be considered a beer, let’s refer to the German Purity Law of 1516. According to this law, a beer can be called a beer if it is made from four ingredients: malt, water, hops and yeast.
While White Claw is made from malted grains, which are an ingredient in beer, the White Claw website specifically states that the drink does NOT contain hops, so technically it cannot be considered a beer.
Is The Alcohol In White Claw Stronger?
There are many different misconceptions about the alcohol in White Claw. First, some people think that the alcohol content is much lower because of its fruity flavors. This false belief often leads people to drink more than they should be drinking.
So how much alcohol is in White Claw? A 12 oz. can of White Claw has 5% ABV (alcohol by volume). This is comparable to many standard beers. This is also one reason why the drink has been compared to beer.
With 5% ABV, this means that White Claw will give you the same alcohol content as beer with 5% ABV. So drinking 3 cans of White Claw is the same as drinking 3 cans of beer in terms of the amount of alcohol that you’re consuming.
In 2021, White Claw came out with White Claw Surge which has a higher alcohol content. How much alcohol is in White Claw Surge? White Claw Surge has 8% ABV in a 16 oz. can. It comes in 2 flavors: blood orange and cranberry. This is 3% higher than the standard White Claw Hard Seltzer.
White Claw Contains Alcohol
Knowing the alcohol content of different types of drinks, especially trendy ones is very important. This could help you make the right decision when it comes to knowing your limit.
If you are in alcohol recovery, White Claw is not an option. White Claw contains alcohol and could cause a relapse.
If you or a loved one is struggling with alcohol abuse, help is available.
Contact Anaheim Lighthouse today.